To my Chinese friends: Da Hua – Howard


Portrait of Howard 2014, mixed media on canvas, 90x70, marco maurizio gobbo

Portrait of Howard 2014, mixed media on canvas, 90×70, marco maurizio gobbo

Seldom I am writing about my Chinese friends, guess is kinda fault, because friendship need also to be acknowledged, nurtured, remembered. Not to be given for granted.
I would like to start with Howard, and the portrait I am almost finishing for him.

He is a naturally elegant man, so kind sometimes you would like him to be rude.
He is from Suzhou, with him I have been exploring some of the most artistically beautiful places in China: PingYao, Datong, Longmen, Dunhuang, Zhangye… too many to write them all.

I painted him blue and red, I am wondering why. Maybe I am sensing he is, inside, balancing carefully opposites, thus is outer kindest persona.
Love him.

About marco maurizio gobbo

Born in Milan on 14 July 1961. During my adolescence I developed an interest in writing and acting, working for various amateur and semi-professional theater companies. In 1990 I moved to London, returned to Italy in 1994,where I joined "Il Raccolto, Association of Authors and Artists of all Cultural Disciplines" directed by Daniele Oppi. In 1998 I became a student and apprentice of the Master painter Mintoy. Starting from the unique use of colors and hues in the works of James Ensor, and Olga Rozanova, Mintoy is a "visual searcher" who use colors and chromatic nuances, intended as pure light, as expression of concepts, meanings and emotions. Following the teaching of Mintoy I started my own painting discourse where pure colors are used in Abstract and Representative form, gradually exploring techniques close to Neo Expressionism, Action Painting and Lyrical Abstraction. Since 2006 I live between Europe and China. I am among the founders and promoters of The Making - Art Management of Hong Kong, serving as Asia Managing Director. You may follow this blog in Italian at www.themaking.blog.exibart.com, look for ARTASIA in the blog section. Welcome comments, happy reading.
This entry was posted in Art, Chinese Contemporary Art, Chinese General Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment